Connect with us


LAGOS: Ovation as 3 priests, 10 lay faithful get papal honour



Ngor-Okpala gets Marist College

Three priests of the Archdiocese of Lagos, Rev. Frs. Gabriel Kunle Amolegbe, Peter Babatunde Oke and Patrick Yinka Obayomi, have been pronounced recipients of “Chaplain of His Holiness.”  The honour means henceforth the priests would be addressed with the name “Monsignor”. 

A release from the Archdiocesan Secretariat, which also  mentioned names of 10 Archdiocesan lay faithful bestowed with various class of papal honour meant for lay men and women, said the elevations were in “recognition of their contribution to the mission of the Church especially in our Archdiocese,”

The lay faithful are: Mr. Gregory Ehimare Enahoro, Mr. Robert Soji Olagunju, Mr. Edward Soleye Hughes (Knights of Saint Gregory the Great), Mr. Patrick Okwudili Igwilo, Mr. Anthony Ikemefuna Idigbe, Mr. Cyril Oluwatoyin Pinheiro and Mr. Patrick Onyema Amaechi (Knights of Saint Sylvester the Pope).

Others were: Mrs. Sena Donata Anthony and Mrs. Chinyelu Nkem Amangbo (Cross Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice) and Mrs. Winifred Nwaukpo Akpani (Dame of Saint Sylvester the Pope).

The Investiture ceremony is scheduled to hold at the Holy Cross Cathedral, Lagos on Tuesday, 14th September, 2021, the Feast of the Exaltation of the Cross and the Principal Feast Day of Lagos Archdiocese.

The release further congratulated the honorees and urged them not to rest on their oars, expressing hope that by the conferment of the honors, the honorees would bind themselves more closely to the Church as they carry out their responsibilities with renewed vigor.

“It is our prayer that the good Lord will renew their strength as they aspire to dedicate themselves more intently to the service of the church in our Archdiocese.”

Continue Reading



Like us on Facebook